Back in October I had a wild time traversing New Hampshire’s Presidential Range:  Mounts Madison, Adams, Jefferson, Clay, Washington, Monroe, Eisenhower, and Pierce, nearly 19 miles, 9,000 feet of elevation gain, and 8,000 feet of downhill.  It was a lovely day out, and I’ve finally gotten around to putting together the video I took during the trip.

 

A big shout out to the lovely Sarah Biber, who was kind and supportive enough to chauffeur me to the Dolly Copp Campground and pick me up at the Highland Center.

The traverse wasn’t as fast as I’d once hoped it might be, a reality which I mainly attribute to (a) the nasty little cold I had leading up to the run, and (b) the tremendous number of rocks in the White Mountains.  I now have even more respect for the animals (goats, specifically) who can hammer out a Presi Traverse in under five hours.  There’s some chance that I have the cardio / running ability to match that kind of effort, but I think I’d have to undertake a lot of specific plyometric training on rugged trails in order to perform at that level.  Plus I would have to become fearless, but I’m working on that.

You can find GPS data from my run here.